top of page

Leaving Hospital

The time had come after 5 days of being hospital it was finally time to go home.

 

Monday 17th June

I woke up and had my last breakfast in hospital. I have to admit the gluten-free toast they had was really nice especially with strawberry jam on. I also had my final hydrotherapy session that morning. I was persistent on getting changed myself that day but the nurse didn't want me too. However, that didn't stop me from trying to when they left the room for a minute. I also walked down to the pool on my crutches which had tired me out before I even got there. And I finally remembered to bring my shampoo and wash stuff!


Hydrotherapy

I used the stairs this time to get into the pool as i'd mastered them during my other physio sessions. My time in the pool consisted of the same exercises as before however this time I had great company. I met girl called Molly who had the same surgery as me on the same day. We spoke throughout the whole session and I found it so uplifting to know that someone else my age was having major surgery on their hip. Because normally when you tell people you're having major surgery on your hip they immediately think you're having a hip replacement! Even though her PAO happened because of a sporting injury we found that the problems the hip dysplasia had caused us were both very similar. We also spoke about how we found hospital life and had a chuckle about about of bowel life! I was fortunate that mine was pretty much back to normal however she was unfortunate that nothing had happened and I could have felt more sorry for her!


I had my first hair wash afterwards and it felt AMAZING, I finally felt like a normal human being again which helped a lot as I was moving out that day. I spent the late morning writing cards to every single person who helped me through my time in hospital and it so was difficult to put into words how thankful I was. The nurses, surgeous, anaesthetists, catering, physiotherapists even the front of house receptionists who greeted my parents everyday and asked how I was. The team at the London Clinic were incredible and they changed my life just in those 5 days.


Packing Up and X-Rays

Around 11am my parents helped me pack and we called for the usher. I was wheeled down for my final X-Ray which took place in this beautiful room. There was a giant window with a curved top that overlooked London which helped make the room feel so light and airy. I spoke to the person doing the scan and asked if I could see it and almost cried when I did. It was crazy! It was the first time i'd seen what had been done to me and how the dish of my hip was completely re-shaped.


Saying Goodbye

I went back to the room and gathered my stuff and headed for the nurses station where I gave them the card I had written and very quickly started crying. The team of nurses were my heroes and they could see that my crying showed how thankful I was and I told them (through the tears) how easy they had made this experience for me. After that I filled out some more forms and went down to reception to pick up my medication. If you've read my other blogs you will know that I had some issues with the pain medication I was on. Therefore, I decided not to get any when I left as I didn't feel like I needed it and also I didn't really want it. We said our goodbyes and thank yous shortly after that and left.


Sat in a wheelchair with my dad in the 'driving seat' (if that's what you call it?) I felt the fresh air hit my skin as I was wheeled out of the grand front doors. The one thing I found difficult was how bright it was. It's something I hadn't thought of but because I was inside for so long with no official sunlight my eyes had adapted to the lighting in the hospital. It took a while to adjust but I don't think it helped that it was really sunny that day, not that I was complaining. As cheesy as it may sound it felt like the sun had come out as a way of saying "You did it!" and to represent the new beginnings that were yet to come.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page